Hunted, but not lapped

img_3040.jpg

I take some solace in the fact that Deidre Winfield, pictured above, beat the entire men’s 35+ and 45+ field Sunday at Cobblestone Cross. The Velo Bella rider and Charlottesvile resident tore up women’s fields on the East Coast last year, ultimately winning the 30-34 national championship and finishing 4th in the elite women’s race.

I managed 4th in 35+, but had to go all out in my second-to-last lap to avoid being lapped by Deidre. Marco happily submitted to being lapped by her en route to 5th place in his first cross race. The course wound through Pole Green Park outside Richmond, mostly across choppy, rough grass, with two steep climbs, a fun banked turn and a stretch of volleyball sand.
img_3004.jpg
The sand and the run-ups killed me. I strained my right hamstring playing soccer with Ellie’s U-10 advanced squad on Saturday and couldn’t run but rather shuffled.
100_1834.jpg
After the race, Marco and I watched K-Dog, AKA The Mutt, suffer the same fate in the A-race that I did in 35+. He held her off.
img_3020.jpg
Deidre even can fly…
img_3013_1.jpg
She leaves Thursday for Europe and a couple of World Cup races and the World Championships. Good luck. We’ll be pulling for you.

3 responses to “Hunted, but not lapped

  1. It was fun, I’m glad I went and I’m looking forward to doing more next season.

  2. Going to school has never been so fun!

  3. Hamstring, eh? Considering that, you should be very proud of 4th! Glad you had a good one again. I’ve got to pump up my tires and get out there! Or maybe I can get Golden to ride me! Great pictures, too. Fit and fun-what a combo.

Leave a Reply

