Nice weekend/first test videos

We had a nice weekend around here, even though it started on a damp note. Busted my bike’s chain on the way out to the Saturday morning Tripower ride. Luckily I got it fixed up and hooked up with both the Conte’s Norfolk and the East Coast Bikes rides, rolling up more than 50 miles. It was cool, damp and foggy. I did play with the cheap new camera – a tiny Sony – that fits in my jersey pocket. Here’s the pace line coming back around the airport:
dsc00016.jpg

That afternoon, we went out to Virginia Beach for Ellie’s last regular season soccer game. She played well and nearly scored an early goal on a booming shot that went just over the top bar. A defender slammed her moments later and Ellie went down, twisting her knee. She had to come out for most of the rest of the half. I was really worried about her, but she walked it off on the sideline, then played a strong second half. She scored a goal on an excellent cross from a teammate. Ellie wrote up the game and her first place in the school fun run on her blog.

After an evening of beer and pizza, I managed to drag myself out of bed this AM and go out to the Beach to ride the Fort Story hills with some team members. At first I was a little fuzzy, but once I started doing the intervals I felt pretty good. Dr. Dan bought all of us some coffee even though it was his 60th birthday. Don’t know how we got you to treat, but thanks. I just hope I’m riding as strong as he is 20 years from now.

After some downtime and yard work, Michele and I took the girls over to a new playground in the neighborhood. I had a ball chasing them around the new apparatus. Here’s Audrey on the swing, shot with my new pocket cam:

We rode bikes home and I shot this (I’m loving this thing):

3 responses to “Nice weekend/first test videos

  1. Which camera did you get? I’m looking for one that will fit in my pocket that won’t empty the wallet…

  2. It’s a Sony Cybershot DSC-W30. Ours was $139 on clearance at Target. We’ve subsequently seen it for $119 online, but once you throw in shipping…
    So far I like it. And it’s certainly easy to use. It has some limited internal memory for a couple dozen lower res. shots or short videos. Need to buy extra memory for more photos or longer vids.

  3. yes ,sony rulz………….

Leave a Reply

