Helmets are a good thing

U.S. Rep. Patrick Kennedy hems and haws when cornered by the Washington Post’s Sleuth and asked about riding a bike without a helmet. (Initially found Kennedy’s equivocating on Gwadzilla.)

Riding without a helmet is asking for a brain injury. You never know what might happen. I’m not enjoying a liquid lunch through a tube in some hospital bed thanks to a helmet after I endo’d while sprinting two-and-a-half years ago. PamZ likely survived her horrible crash two weeks ago thanks to her helmet. Then there’s this guy…

    helmetryan1.jpg

Ryan Lipscomb (picture stolen from TreeHugger) who lived to tell the tale after a truck ran over his head, safely ensconced in a bike helmet.

“I didn’t see it coming, but I sure felt it roll over my head,” said the grad student at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. “It feels really strange to have a truck run over your head.”

The truck turned in front of him as he rode down a bike path, prompting Lipscomb to slam on his brakes and flip over the handlebars into the path of the truck, which kept on going after rolling over him.

I know people have the freedom to make their own dumb decisions, but I always wonder, especially when I see a parent riding helmetless with their helmeted kids. They’re soooo worried about their kids’ safety, but could care less about whether they themselves will be around to see the kids grow up.

When I was young, invincible and a fool, I didn’t wear a helmet on some days as I worked as a bike courier in DC. The old Bell was big, awkward and hot. Many days I did. But now, I guess I’m a helmet fascist.

4 responses to “Helmets are a good thing

  1. guilty as charged… but glad that you wear yours. I’m always in helmet when I ride Golden, my mare. Perhaps it’s because I hardly ever ride my bike and am frequently on the horse? Skewed logic, eh?

  2. I am with ya Chris. I cringe when I see anyone riding (no matter how casual) w/ out a helmet. The link to Post piece shows reader comments at end and so many people think it’s juvenile and not important to be talking about HEAD and BRAIN safty. Hmm. At the same time, we as avid cyclists have seen so many instances of a helmet saving lives that others have not. Makes me realize how impt it is to be involved in the law making process.

  3. i`ve lived thru 2 busted helmetz myself……but don`t ever let me see you wearing a helmet on a beach cruiser!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Don’t own a cruiser, but I’d be hard-pressed to not lead by example for my kids.

Leave a Reply

