A wee damp ride

The 757 bike bloggers got dirty, cold and wet today on the trail system around Lake Maury in Newport News. With rain creeping into the area, I was more than ready to pull the plug, make some coffee and read the paper, but Kevin told me Liz was in, so there was no pulling out. It was cold and gray when we arrived at the parking lot.

dsc01642_1.jpg

Todd, Jerry, Kevin and Marco

dsc01643_1.jpg

Liz the Voice

In fact, there were a whole mess of us. Kevin organized the boys to poach in on the women’s ride organized by Beneline and Liz. Here’s a group shot from Liz, but shot by Beneline:

ny-womens-ride-07.jpg

Then we rode off and let the women be. We boys were chasing our tour guide Todd from Trek’s East Coast team through the woods. It was a lot of fun. Since I hadn’t been on my K2 since July, when I tore the tire racing in Richmond, I was kind of tentative, slipping out on leaves and not feeling real secure. Even sick Marco was riding away from me. Then it started raining. A nice cold rain. The kind that soaks through your clothes and settles in your bones. Ride faster, stay warmer. The mud was fun, sliding through turns; the wet roots, not so much. I started to feel more confident on the bike and towards the end was having little trouble staying up with Marc and Jerry… Todd and Kevin were another matter. Wish I had better MTB skills. All four of these guys outclassed me on that count.

Despite the rain, we had a great, fun ride. If we’d started at 8am instead of 9, we could have logged some decent time in, but we still got nearly 90 minutes of riding. Hopefully I’ll log more time on the mountain bike this year. It’s a good alternative when it’s cold outside. The trail keeps your mind off the chill and the woods negate whatever wind there is. And even though I was cold and all wet, a quick change of clothes in the car and I was good to go.

3 responses to “A wee damp ride

  1. That was a good ride and I’m looking forward to doing it again soon. Surprisingly I feel better after ride!

  2. sounds like fun…if cold and wet, like the time we skiied in garbage bags with holes for your head and arms cut in the bottom and sides. There was some Hefty (sorry) skiing going on that day, but we were Glad to be there.

  3. Those WERE some slick conditions! I like the trail a lot, but the root count is pretty high. I guess this was the inaugural New Year’s gender-bender women’s ride!

Leave a Reply

