Taking out Jeff Cup

dsc01945.jpg

Not sure if the best part is the money, the doomed bunny, the Jefferson Cup I never got when I went to UVA or the stupid smile I can’t get rid of, but I won my first road race today. I sprinted to the win in Cat 4 at the Jeff Cup in Charlottesville, racing in a field of 125 riders drawn from Virginia, Maryland, D.C. and North Carolina.

I’m also not sure I can say for sure how it happened. I talked to several people about the race and absorbed the advice. Stay close to the front going into the big climb; be in the top 15 on the final turn; don’t go too early.

I followed their advice as best I could. I found the race a bit frustrating for how it yo-yo’d, speeding down descents, then crawling up climbs. I had to ride my brakes on the downhills, since I descend like a stone as a big guy, then no one would carry momentum up the next roller. I attacked twice, once in the first lap and again in the second lap, but 4s tend to not let anyone get away. I spent much of the third lap recovering from the last attack and drifting too far back in the field. But I was able to move up throughout the fourth lap.

I think I rolled through the final turn in exactly 15th. The final mile seemed almost as if it unfolded in slow motion and not just because it’s uphill. With about 1K to go a group of three separated off the front by about 10 meters. Someone said later they started sprinting too soon. I sat in the next group about 6th wheel, feeling comfortable and sort of waiting for someone to do something. About 500 meters from the finish, the Carytown rider in front of me jumped to bridge, I went with him. We caught them with about 250 meters to go. He went around them to the right and I jumped left. Suddenly there was no one in front of me. I kept waiting for someone to pass, but I even got to lift my arms as I crossed the line.

I owe thanks to new teammate Nate for driving up there and back, Art for being there and the rest of the Tripower crew for making me stronger every time I ride with them. And thanks to the race organizers for putting on a good race.

Hope someone out there got pictures from the finish.

20 responses to “Taking out Jeff Cup

  1. Congrats Chris. That is a big win especially with so many MABRA guys packing the field.

  2. So proud, so backed…

  3. Back to Charlottesville… Good race for you, congratulations! Too bad you don’t have any fun doing it (right!)!

  4. Congrats on a great win!!
    Nice representing for all of us flatlanders.

  5. sweeeeet………..

  6. Congrats on the win! I still cant figure out why you didnt believe me when I told you you really came in last.

  7. That is awesome, Congratulations.

  8. I was standing @ about 50m past the finish. The look on your face when you crossed the line was AWESOME!!! Congrats dude!! That was some STRONG ridin’!!

  9. Hey…Send me your email address and I’ll email you the video of the finish (4.6MB). I was videoing my husband who came in 2nd. Nice sprint for the win!
    suzparr1sh@yahoo.com

  10. Well I’ll be: Congrats on the race and your write up—actually felt like I was there while reading the blog.
    love DAD

  11. nice job, dinsmore! i have chocolate bunny envy!

    capn cook

  12. you are a pimp! congrats man. Thats a HUGE victory. time for cat 3!

  13. Absolutely outstanding !!!!!

  14. Bob and Carol

    Michlele told us about the race. I think it is great. All the time on the bike training makes it worthwile when it results in a win like this.

  15. Congrats on the win. Very impressive to win with such a big field.

    I only wish the pace of the last two miles was throughout the race.

    A very frustrating race and one of the scariest races I’ve been in.

  16. Glad to see someone who was mixing it up and trying some attacks end up with the win.

    Way to grab that wheel at the end. Well played!

  17. Dave Kirkpatrick

    Chris, Great job. Congrats.

  18. Pingback: Du it in the dirt (a spring calendar) « Two-wheeled (and other) misadventures

  19. Hello, Neat post. There is a problem along with your website in web explorer, may check this… IE nonetheless is the marketplace leader and a huge portion of folks will miss your wonderful writing because of this problem.

Leave a Reply

