Back in my place

Eighth found me again today as I hesitated around the final turn when the big jump came. That’s three 8ths in crits this year.

I stayed close to the front throughout the race. I even jumped away for back-to-back $5 primes with about 10 laps to go, but even though I created a good gap (read: they let me go), I sat up and waited. I knew I’d fry if I tried to keep rolling. Going into the last few laps I stayed very close to the front. Patrick McKeegan got a terrific jump with two laps to go. He built a good gap, but in the final lap Jacob Tremblay buried himself with me on his wheel and closed him down. I thought I was in great position, but I stayed with Jacob too long after a rider jumped in the final turn.

Throughout the race, I felt kind of tired. My legs still are not in their happy place.

The team had a decent day. Silly Sal pipped Laura in the smallish women’s 1,2,3 race. Hosang got 2nd, I think, in the 30+. David got 3rd in the 5s with Zack not far back. I’m not sure what happened later in the afternoon. One thing is for sure, there were a lot of Tripower riders representing.

One response to “Back in my place

  1. While Patrick was away having fun this weekend racing his bike, we stayed in Staunton and worked on his Eagle Scout project, a new mountain bike trail. The consensus is to call it the “Lazy Scout” trail.

    Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

