The tenth day of Cyclomas, a fantasy

The Christmas bike faerie gave to me…

A Garmin Edge 705:

cf-lg

This has to be the coolest bicycle computer out there right now. It ought to be for $500+. The only thing it seems to be missing is a pinhole video camera to shoot your ride through some wicked single track in high-def. That’s next year, I guess. The 705 uses GPS to track speed, elevation and where you are on a ride. You can race against yourself over the same route. You can download rides. It offers access to heart rate, cadence and power data with the right add-ons. You can add street maps or offroad topo maps to help track your ride. I’d love one of these the next time I’m riding up in the Blue Ridge or in the hills around my Dad’s place in New Hampshire. This is a gadget freak’s toy.

3 responses to “The tenth day of Cyclomas, a fantasy

  1. I’ve been gone for awhile, but was tlaking with a gal at lunch today whose son is at UVa and works at Community Bikes. She wants me to send her this blog address for him. He’s into biking as well. The next generation…

  2. when you are on these rugged trails, shouldn’t you be looking at the trail and not some gadget? I think I’m beginning to understand why I’ve got blood on the front seat of my truck.

  3. be careful, you could get lost in there???????

Leave a Reply

